being wrong

That blogs invoke a kind of informality is highly beneficial to the anthropologist in the field.

It opens the door to being wrong. [and/or stupid in public]

If I wait more, think more, reflect more, learn more, will I still be wrong? Should I hide how wrong I am now? When do I come out with it?

If only people who agree with me read this blog, how will blogging change it? [stop boring people]

Well it helps me think and reflect. And even with some friends and foes. Why do that publicly? [and some readers still caught this far in my ramble might wake up and realize they've been caught in one of those internet drifts... how did I get here again?]

Maybe the informal nature of the blog will save me from peoples expectations of expertise – I’m just interested! (and wrong).

to my future. . .

will great titles change me? Is it my destiny to become an expert?

i seek power. I seek recognition. [arts degree]

I am riding a wave too. When you find a way out -

let me know. [job]

4 responses to this post.

  1. This is anthropological poetry dedicated to hierarchy, competition and grading.

    Reply

  2. In a way you are making a name for yourself within the blogging sphere- Along with these other Anthropologists. What makes us strive for that power and Title is our own ideals and values we place on ourselve to be better and do more… By blogging in the public arena you are publishing your own work ‘for good’ meaning that it is out there. As you mentioned – you are more cautious in writing something with your name on it on the blog than doing it the other way by means of publishing. By generating conversations and discussions here, i’m not sure that having a prestegious title will have the same meaing on the blog as it does in the publishing world. Generating ideas and thouhts is what it is about – Title or not. What is interesting is that we want that title, that power! I know I’d like to have it… Until then, I will try to keep up to date with other anthropology students and Profs… and keep learning.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the comments Shannon! Yes, I agree with you, and perhaps its more a fear of having a title. I enjoy the freedom of being labelled a “student” and I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of behaviors are expected of people who have big degrees – especially when they speak in public, or when they do research.

    Reply

  4. It’s also empirical evidence of how little creative writing anthropology programs get their students to do! lol. “failed writer” anyone?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

