the sleeper must awaken

“A person needs new experiences. They jar something deep inside, allowing you to grow. Without them, it sleeps- seldom to awaken. The sleeper must awaken. “
Frank Herbert

Thesis submission – 42 days and counting.

11 responses to this post.

  1. 42 days? I’m a little jealous :)

    Reply

  2. Let’s plan the celebration now!
    Methinks a “Master’s Beer” is in order.

    Reply

  3. I’d just like to say that the sleeper is trying to wake up – but that I’m still inching through this thesis – averaging a couple paragraphs a day. Some sticky sections have now been removed from the thesis.

    I also realize I get to double space this thing at some point. So I’ll get there!

    Yes, there will be beer.

    Reply

  4. Go for it! You can do it!
    (If it helps, feel free to picture us as actual cheerleaders…)

    Reply

  5. 42 days my !@#!. Nude cheerleaders?

    Howabout blinking over to Mexico, hanging out on a nude beach, and then get offered the opportunity to work as a bartender on the beach for the two months I dedicated to finishing the thesis? (btw, I was told I make a great bartender – and I have to say its a fantastic space to engage and learn from people. Every drunken fool (in the positive happy sense) asked me what my thesis was about, and while I thought I would bore everyone with the discussion, it turns out most hippie travelers have Ph.D’s and love to get pissed while speaking academiceeze).

    Heck I even wrote a section about Open Access publishing, the day after getting drunk on Mezcal while dancing salsa and betting on cock fights! Geertz eat your heart out!

    But I’m 42 pages into it… I’m starting to wake up with thesis thoughts (aka internal stress is rising), and if I don’t get kicked outta the school first, I’ll have it finished before getting home May 1st.

    Who knows if that’s going to work for everyone at the school, but the universe took over…

    and then I stepped into a wormhole, and woke up in Sri Lanka.

    I asked for new experiences, and I got them!

    Reply

  6. Go get them!

    Reply

  7. …I am waiting… :|

    Reply

  8. PS: I recognize that clip from DUNE…come on, you can’t get anything past me.

    Reply

  9. So, when will we be able to get our hands on those chapters? We want them!

    Reply

    • I should have taken the water of life, but chickened out at the last minute thinking it best to keep my head on my shoulders. Who wants to end up a blind desert nomad?

      Unfortunately that means the chapters are only being posted as we speak, as opposed to many months ago. Chapters 1 + 2 are up now, with some odd cut and paste issues that messed the formating in WordPress.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

