new ethnography podcast

I’m excited to see Enkerli’s latest project, which he was “pondering” only a few weeks back, has already materialized. Check out the latest anthropology-related podcast, focusing on ethnography. Also take note of Enkerli’s new blog, “Informal Ethnographer”, and twitter accounts, which were created to develop and clarify professional and personal roles.

He writes:

“Here it is! The first episode of Rapport: The Informal Ethnographer Podcast.

As I was editing it, I noticed a number of flaws. For instance, there are several things I mispronounced there are some things I might have wanted to take out of it. But I maintain my RERO principle and I’m posting it as-is.

As this is the “enhanced podcast” version, with chapter markers, you can skip around as you please, between different sections. I should post MP3 files for the different sections but the official release will always be with the enhanced podcast.”

I’m heading home now to grab some headphones…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by iethnographer on May 14, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks for the plug! ;-)

    And don’t mind the sound quality of that inaugural episode. I wanted to post it quickly, so I didn’t process it the way I should have.
    It’s also heavy on the presentation of self, but this might become useful if people subscribe to the podcast after a few episodes.

    I’ve been thinking about podcasting for quite a while and several friends have been teasing me about this. But I decided to bite the bullet, just recently. I set up the domain name, site, blog, and podcast within the last week. Didn’t require much effort but I did think about a number of things, including a large number of ideas for episode topics. I might actually post this list.

    As for separating my online identities… It’s an interesting process. I think it works rather well and it has interesting consequences.
    One example is that I can separate my activities. I currently do this by working on “Informal Ethnographer” stuff in Firefox and on “Enkerli” in Safari. So, my social media accounts are visibly separated. It also means that I can link “iethnographer” and “enkerli” to different sets ofpeople in terms of social media connections (e.g., follow different people from my two Twitter accounts). At this time, “iethnographer” is on Identi.ca, Twitter, CCmixter, Ping.fm, and BackType. I have many more accounts for “enkerli” but I don’t need so many for “iethnographer.”

    The distinction isn’t really about “professional” vs. “personal.” I use several of my “Enkerli” accounts for work, including some work which is quite ethnographic. And, given the “informality” angle, it shouldn’t be too surprising if some “iethnographer” content relates to personal issues.
    I’m trying to build something specific with “Informal Ethnographer.” It’s not just a domain name, the title for a site, and part of the titles for a blog and a podcast. It’s a bit more of a “role.” I mean it both sociologically and dramaturgically. (Goffman is often on my mind, especially when I teach sociology.)

    And it can work as a “brand.”
    I’m cautious, as I say this. I do want/need to “market myself.” And I’m fascinated by social marketing. But self-promotion is a bit strange.
    Still, I think the “brand” itself works. It does define something I think I can be, at times. And I want to help define ethnography as an approach and perspective.
    I’m already having interesting discussions on the subject of ethnography through Twitter (with my “enkerli” account, actually). And I’m hoping that this “brand” might help some people think about ethnography.

    Again, thanks for your help!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

